Interlock -Interbond - a quick look at them both.

Started by Treeman, May 30, 2022, 10:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Treeman

I have been digging bullets out of animals for 20 years this year, started a collection, tired of it and dumped it all and then shortly there after started another. I was going through the back of my cupboards (there where forgotten press's,scales and dies are lost)  and found two old boards with bullets glued to them. These boards were never made for others, so there is no art or such, just meant as a way to not lose the bullets or the information.
Some of these go back to 2002 and have been rewritten more than once.

I did and this experiment many years back, split a Hornady Interbond bullet and twisted one half. See how the lead sticks to the copper case?
20220530_210705 by David Frank Allen, on Flickr
Terminal ballistic result would be something like this.
20220530_212820 by David Frank Allen, on Flickr
or
20220530_212851 by David Frank Allen, on Flickr
I then did the same to some interlock bullets. The case lead separation can clearly be seen.
20220530_212521 by David Frank Allen, on Flickr
Terminal ballistic results are often but not always like this.
20220530_212712 by David Frank Allen, on Flickr
But sometimes like this.
20220530_210507 by David Frank Allen, on Flickr
Often even this.
20220530_210546 by David Frank Allen, on Flickr
Or this.
20220530_210627 by David Frank Allen, on Flickr

I am who I am - I am not who you want me to be.
Therefore I am me.

Treeman