Hunt approaching fast

Started by janfred, Jul 16, 2024, 01:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

janfred

As some of you know by now, I am finally going hunting. Day is fast approaching but time still seems to drag by.

When I first contacted Dave, I was sitting on a ship in Singapore, 9000km away. All I could do was plan, and plan I did. So much that I think Dave started to dread the early afternoon messages. As a novice, I had quite a few questions.

Got home a week ago and still had to do load development. To make matters a bit more challenging is that it was the wettest and windiest week I can remember in a long time. And the shooting range is only open Wednesday to Saturday. Thankfully there was a gap in the rain on Wednesday afternoon and Friday morning. But then again, I would have shot in the rain.

All of my shooting in the past has been target shooting with proper match bullets. I tried the SBC bullets in 150 and 180gr. My Tikka did not do so well with them. Got hold of a box of 180gr SP Interlocks. What a difference. All 3 loads tested shot less than 1 MOA with an SD of less than 7fps.

Had to get a new wardrobe just for the hunt. Turns out that most of my clothes are, or contain, the colour blue. Judging by the weather forecast it is going to be quite cool at night.

By all accounts the camp is quite rough. No five star accommodation or turn-down service there. Probably won't get coffee in bed either. Can't say I am looking forward to do a no 2 at 4°C. I wonder if Dave has any idea how loud my snoring is?

Unlike my last hunt, this one is much better planned. Cooler boxes collected, hunting ammo loaded, scope zeroed. Binos, range finder, knife, hat in my bag. And spare ammo. Enough. Because gunshops are closed when the hunt is on. Only things that I still need is a license, ice, food and water. Maybe a half-jack of OBS because of the cold nights.

Treeman