Tribute to the Lee Safety Scale

Started by big5ifty, Feb 08, 2023, 10:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

big5ifty

I've spent some time evaluating low cost electronic scales suitable for accurate weighing while powder trickling, and ended up with something interesting instead.

I have a RCBS Chargemaster 1500 scale. It works well enough. Drift is not bad, but it does drift, sometimes a significant part of one grain.

I am not prepared to spend what I consider a huge amount of money on a FX120i or equivalent, so I bought and tried a few different scales in the same price range as the one I have, and none of them are better.

They all drift.

I have an old 10-10, which weighs accurately, but does not have a fine enough resolution to easily indicate a single granule of powder being added to the pan.

I then recalled that years ago, when I first began reloading, my first scale was a Lee Precision. I also recalled that it was extremely sensitive, but a perpetual motion machine, making powder weighing an exercise towards sainthood. I also remember giving it away and buying something orange, can't remember exactly what it was.

I now bought another Lee, and tried to figure out why it could never stop moving. The reason is that brass or aluminium when moving through a magnetic field, experience a force to retard the motion. The magnets in the Lee scale are not strong enough to distract a compass needle, so I removed them and replaced them with rectangular neodymium magnets. Perpetual motion problem solved.

I have an old laptop - look up HP 6730b to see how old - that's too slow for anything useful, and an almost equally old USB HD webcam. I used them to give me a big picture of the scale reading. I used two strips aluminium tape superimposed on the scale to give a finer demarcation line.

I've checked what the Chargemaster 1500 says against the 10-10, and they concur.

So I'm trying a new thing :

1. use the 10-10 to weigh the initial charge, being accurate to 0.1 grain